My Recent Photography Life At Christmas Lunch

My recent photography of Christmas lunch in Washington DC was the catalyst for my book, Christmas at the White House. This was a rather typical and small event for me but it ended up being rather more fulfilling than I could ever have imagined. What started as an attempt to photograph my friends and I at an old landmark that had been damaged during the 9/11 terrorist attacks turned into a fascinating and enlightening story about our freedom and the true meaning of Christmas. Click here to know more details visit 2fourk.

10 Awesome Christmas Photography Tutorials to Try Yourself!

That particular photo of me with the destroyed Christmas tree was later picked up by National Geographic while appearing in their Christmas issue. The magazine ran the photo in their holiday issue, featuring the actual tree under the snow with a white Christmas wreath on top and a message underneath that read “The First Christmas Ever In Washington.” Although I had intended to use this photo as the cover of the Christmas photo essay in my book, it quickly became clear that it would be much more useful and meaningful to put into the book itself.

For one thing, the photo didn’t capture the spirit of the day, in fact it didn’t capture any of the spirit of the day. It didn’t capture what Christmas was or why we all love and celebrate it. It simply served to illustrate how the day should be seen, photographed, and felt. I think that what is missing from a lot of contemporary photography is the understanding of the true meaning of Christmas. Most people’s perception of what Christmas means is completely different than the true spirit of what it truly is.

When I look back over the photos that I took that day, it amazes me just how similar they all seem. Maybe it is my perspective that is different but every photo tells a different tale. Maybe it is the lighting or maybe it is the subject. No matter what it is, the meaning is crystal clear no matter what.

The most inspiring photograph that I recently took while I was out at Christmas lunch was one that I can share with you that showed the essence of Christmas. It was taken on a beautiful sunny day, as the sun began to set. As the evening approached my family and I were all gathered around a big Christmas tree waiting for Santa to arrive. I was twenty years old then but it seemed that even in those years I had not lost my belief in Santa. So, as the evening grew later I felt myself getting more excited as I waited anxiously for his arrival. Finally he arrived and as he pulled up right in front of us I knew that my childhood fantasy of him stopping by was about to come true.

My recent photography life at Christmas lunch really brought home the point that nothing is set in stone and no matter how much work you put in behind the camera finding that perfect image is never going to be easy. It is about luck and preparation more than anything else. And the good thing is that you’re lucky enough to have the opportunity to capture these wonderful images on film doesn’t just happen over night. You’ve worked hard for your chance and now it is time to enjoy it.